09 March 2011

10th Annual Bay Area Glass Institute Auction

Ethan Stern - Saber T

The Bay Area Glass Institute (BAGI) Presents its 10th Annual GREAT GLASS AUCTION
Saturday, March 26, 2011 5:30-9:30 pm

Preston Singletary

The Benefit supports emerging glass artists, aspiring students and public glass art education
Come join California Bay Area glass lovers, artists, collectors, and patrons as they bid on nearly one hundred pieces of exquisite fine art glass donated by well-known local, national and international artists at the 2011 Great Glass Auction, on Saturday, March 26, 2011 from 5:30-9:30 p.m., in the Cultural Hall at the Palo Alto Jewish Community Center (JCC). The special evening features silent and live auctions of one-of-a-kind glass art and also awards to outstanding glass artists.

A highlight of the Auction evening will be the announcement of the prestigious Saxe Fellowship Award for outstanding craftsmanship and achievement in glass chosen in a juried competition, as well as the People's Choice Award, selected by auction attendees, that honors the best piece contributed by a local artist. The Saxe Fellowship jurors this year are: Susan Krane, Executive Director, San Jose Museum of Arts and world renowned collector Dorothy Saxe of San Francisco, California.

Demetra Theofanous

Tax-deductible tickets for the Tenth Annual Great Glass Auction range in price from $150-$1000 are available online at: http://bagi2011.eventbrite.com/. For additional ticket information, please contact Mark Murai at 408.993.2244 or mark.murai@bagi.org.

2011 GLASS ARTISTS: Local and nationally known glass artists confirmed to participate in the 2011 auction include: Mark Abildgaard, Beck Alexander, George Aslanis, Dean Bensen, Melissa and Keith Bispo, Terri Bromberg, Larry Cazes, Tracy Cazes, Vivki Cederquist, , Lionel Chapital, Shirley Cook, Bernard D’Onofrio, Matt Eaton, Steve Fader, Ian Gilula, Linda Goldstein, Justin Green, Shaun Griffiths, Jaime Guerrero, Theoren Hanks, Susan Haskell, Colin Heaney, Ann Hollingsworth, Martin Janecky, Michael Janis, Chris Johnson, Vladimira Klumpar, Ilona Lindsay, Jeff Lindsay, Elizabeth Ryland Mears, Kari Minnick, Chris Moore, Melanie Moertel, Anne Morhauser (Annieglass), Mark Murai, Jay Musler, Rick and Janet Nicholson, Michael Nourot, Tone Orvik, David Patchen, Jenny Pohlman and Sabrina Knowles, Deva Priya, Toland Sand, Jon Scally, Curt Schauer, Jonathon Schmuck, Treg Silkwood and Candance Martin, Preston Singletary, Rich Small, David Sommers, Michael Sosin, Tom Stanton, Ethan Stern, Cassandra Straubing, Randy Strong, Boyd Sugiki and Lisa Zerkowitz, Demi Theofanous, Cappy Thompson, Jane Tivol, Pamina Tryalor, Tom Upchurch, Jennifer Umphress, Char Walker and Mary B. White.
Visit the BAGI website at http://www.bagi.org/ to view the latest artist updates.

No comments: